You are here: Home The College Advisory Board

Advisory Board

UCF header stripe

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of University College Freiburg was institutionalized in 2013 and convened for the first time in June of 2014. Its statutory role is to advise and support UCF in establishing interdisciplinary and internationally oriented teaching programs at the University of Freiburg. This takes on the form of recommendations concerning UCF governance, its current programs and new initiatives, and/or national and international networking support for UCF and UCF students. Accordingly, the Advisory Board consists of distinguished representatives from civil society, business, and politics as well as from our students’ future work areas.

We are proud and grateful that the following experts have committed to supporting UCF as Advisory Board members:

Dipl.-Vw. Günther Fleig: Günther Fleig studied economics at the University of Freiburg and, after graduation, started his career at KPMG, moving on with growing responsibility to the Daimler AG, the WMF AG and again back to Daimler where he was a board member as global chief human resources officer and industrial relations director from 1999 until 2009. He is a member of the president’s council of DECRA e.V. and chairman of the supervisory board of HAGER S.E., and holds several honorary offices, including membership in the Board of Trustees of the Hanns Martin Schleyer Foundation, as member of the supervisory board of the Franco-German University, and as member of the board of the Franco-German Chamber of Commerce, Paris.

Prof. Dr. Barbara Ischinger: After her dissertation (University of Heidelberg) and habilitation (University of Cologne) in African Literature, Prof. Ischinger held several offices in the field of international education: at the UNESCO, as Executive Director of the Fulbright Commission, as Vice President of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and, from 2006 until 2014, as Director for Education and Skills at the OECD.

Dr. Annette Julius: After finishing her studies of Russian Literature at the Universities of Cologne, Dundee (Scotland) and Moscow, Dr. Julius started her career at the intersection between higher education and academic sponsorship – for the Cusanuswerk and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). Since 2012, she has been general secretary of the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes (German Academic Scholarship Foundation).

Prof. Dr. Sabine Rollberg is an alumna of the University of Freiburg where she studied German Philology, History, and Political Science. After her PhD, she worked as a journalist for, inter alia, Westdeutscher Rundfunk and arte. She was chief editor for WDR / Arte (a Franco-German TV network) from 2008-2017. Furthermore, she teaches at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne and is member of the University Council of the University of Freiburg.

Marcel Thimm has dedicated his career in finance and banking to the Sparkasse and its role in regional social and economic development. After training and managerial positions at the Sparkasse branches in Emmendingen, Göppingen, and Freiburg, he was appointed Chairman of the Board of the Sparkasse Freiburg-Nördlicher Breisgau in 2012, the donor of the Erasmus Prize for the Liberal Arts and Sciences

From 2013 until 2018, Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Beck was a member of the UCF Advisory Board. Dr. Beck was as managing partner in charge of the humanities and literature programs of C.H. Beck publishers, Munich, since 1973. In early 2015, his son Jonathan Beck succeeded him as editor, while he continues to be a partner of the C.H. Beck publishing group. Wolfgang Beck received an honorary doctorate from the University of Freiburg in 2005. We warmly thank Dr. Beck for his support.